top of page

Plans for 2023

Overall, 2022 was a great year for Board Man Gaming. Another spontaneous major project was completed, which led to the beginning of an exciting collaboration. The Campaign of Thrones continued to chug along, with part 1 culminating in a memorable clash between Renly and Stannis. I also put the finishing touches on the House Arryn Expansion and updated every single custom scenario (which was A LOT of work). Please check them out:







The one thing I couldn’t accomplish in 2022 was creating a sourcebook for the War of the Five Kings that stitched a bunch of scenarios together to create a narrative campaign. I don’t want to start work on it until Edmure Tully and Beric Dondarrion are released, as they are key parts to some important battles in the conflict. If by the summer those two characters are still not on the release schedule, I may do a smaller sourcebook based on the happenings around the Wall.


In 2021 House Greyjoy was released and I was able to add a dozen new scenarios about the ironborn invasion of the north, such as the Fall of Moat Cailin and Clash at Deepwood Motte. With the release of House Martell in 2022, I was able to add… absolutely nothing. Once Arianne Martell, Darkstar, and Myrcella Baratheon are out I have a few ideas, but as always, my plans hinge greatly upon future heroes box releases.


For 2023, the Campaign of Thrones will continue with altered events from the A Storm of Swords timeline. If you haven’t checked out the campaign yet, it’s a series of interconnected What If? custom scenarios and battle reports that tell an alternate version of the War of the Five Kings and the Battle for the Wall. I will also continue to release new What If? scenarios and scenarios based on the TV show and books (again, my plans hinge greatly upon future heroes box releases).


I’ve also started the very, very slow process of painting my entire collection (which is a lot). I’m focusing on quality over quantity, so it will probably take me about 50 years to complete, but I’m enjoying it so far. Here is my first finished (sans base) model, a War Mammoth:



By far the coolest news is that the French YouTube channel Le Bar à Théo has begun to film battle reports of my scenarios. They started with Break the Siege:



And continued with Lady Donella’s Hand:



The most recent video is the Capture of Winterfell:



Hopefully the game continues to thrive in 2023 with rules updates, new unit releases, and lots of heroes boxes. All the best in 2023 and thanks so much for your support!


bottom of page